Quick Answer: Does Deactivating Facebook Delete Messages?

Why can’t I deactivate my Messenger 2020?

First, you need to make sure your main Facebook account is deactivated (You can’t deactivate Messenger alone as far as I’m aware of).

After that, open Messenger and tap on your profile image top left next to “Chats”.

At the bottom here, you’ll see “Deactivate Messenger”.

Tap that and follow the instructions..

How long after deactivating Facebook does it delete?

30 daysAfter 30 days, your account and all your information will be permanently deleted, and you won’t be able to retrieve your information.

What happens to messages when deactivate Facebook?

While your account is deactivated, people on Facebook will not be able to search for you, but some information like messages you’ve sent may still be visible to others. If you permanently delete your account, you will not be able to regain access to your account again, ever.

What do friends see when you deactivate messenger?

What happens after the deactivation process?You will be invisible in the Messenger app. No one will be seeing your profile in the app.No one will be able to communicate with you.When you reactive Messenger, it will also reactivate your Facebook account automatically.

Why would someone keep deactivating Facebook?

One of the main reasons Facebook users deactivate their accounts is due to privacy concerns. These users may not feel that Facebook is safeguarding their privacy in a way that they trust, or perhaps they are going through a rough period in their lives, such as a divorce, and need some time to themselves.

When you deactivate Messenger do your messages disappear?

Yes, you can still use Messenger, so it follows that your messages will appear after deactivating your account. In fact, when you press “Send,” as long as you have internet access, the message will go straight to the recipient’s inbox. However, if you delete Facebook, your previous messages will read “Facebook User”.

How do I temporarily disable Facebook Messenger?

Select Settings & Privacy, then click Settings. Click Your Facebook Information in the left column. Click Deactivation and Deletion. Choose Deactivate Account, then click Continue to Account Deactivation and follow the instructions to confirm.

What happens when you deactivate messenger?

What Happens When You Deactivate Messenger? Now that you know how to deactivate Facebook Messenger, no one will be able to see your profile in the app, or send you messages in existing conversations. … If you only want to keep the Messenger service, you will need to deactivate your Facebook account for a second time.

Are Messenger messages deleted permanently?

Unfortunately, when you delete a message in the Facebook Messenger app, it’s permanently deleted, according to Facebook Messenger’s official policy. This is great for privacy but can become a problem if you delete something valuable by mistake.

How do I temporarily disable messenger?

You can only deactivate Messenger if you previously deactivated your Facebook account. To deactivate it, open Messenger, then tap your profile picture in the top left corner, and go to Privacy & Terms > Deactivate Messenger. From there, enter your password and tap Continue. Next, tap Deactivate.

How do I permanently delete old Facebook messages on both sides?

How to delete Facebook messages from both sidesTap and hold the message.Click “remove.”Select “Remove for Everyone.”Confirm removal of the message.A tombstone will appear in the message thread stating, “you removed a message.”

Can I hide my Facebook account without deactivating it?

Depending on your needs, you can either hide your profile from specific users or you can configure your profile to be invisible to everyone except friends or friends of friends. On the other hand, if you only want to hide your profile when you are signed out, you can do so by deactivating your account.

Do messages disappear when you deactivate Facebook?

HaileyFacebook Help Team If you deactivate your account your profile won’t be visible to other people on Facebook and people won’t be able to search for you. Some information, such as messages you sent to friends, may still be visible to others. Any comments that you’ve made on other person’s profile will remain.

Does deactivating Facebook delete comments?

3 Answers. You actually deactivate it, and once you do that all your comments, likes, shares, post and everything associated with your profile disappears like it never existed. But your message conversation will still be visible on your friend’s inbox just there won’t be your profile picture and link to it.